• banner1
  • banner1
  • banner2
  • banner3
  • banner4
responsive slider jquery by WOWSlider.com v5.6
Mysore has the reputation of being a connoisseur of art and music since centuries. The princely state of Mysore was a hub of art and music. The scenario changed soon after the absorption of princely states into the Indian Republic. The "Royal Asthan" lost its earlier power and status in 1956. Sangita Bhushana M.A.Narasimhachar and a few other like-minded friends such as Sri S.B.Rama Rao of LIC, K.V.Anantharamaiah a leading advocate, the then Vice President of Mysore Municipality and many others contemplated an alternative organization, which would continue patronage to music. The brain-child of such a vision was Sri Nadabrahma Sangeetha Sabha. It was launched on 20.12.1956. The sabha was inaugurated by Sri G.N.Nagaraja Rao, divisional commisioner of Mysore. The Sabha was given a small room at Anathalaya building, which became its Office (that room was retained by sabha till 2005). The first President of the sabha was Vajram S.Srinivasa Iyengar of T.Narasipur. The inaugural concert of the sabha was at Sadvidya High school. Vidwan T.K.Rangachari from Chennai presented the inaugural concert.

In the next 50 years the sabha gradually grew from strength to strength. It gained a very prestigious status. Membership increased to around 800. Every year 10 celebrities of Carnatic music performed under the auspices of the sabha. The envious list of artistes who performed in the Nadabrahma Sabha includes M.S.Subbalakshmi, D.K.Pattammal, M.L.VasantaKumari, Ariakkudi Ramanuja Iyengar, Semmangudi Srinivasa Iyer, Chembai Vaidyanatha Bhagavathar, G.N.Balasubramanyam, Alattur Brothers, Sathur A.G.Subramanyam, Madurai Mani Iyer, S.Kalyanaraman, T.M.Tyagarajan, Nedanoori Krishnamurthy, M.Balamurali Krishna, R.K.Srikantan and others. The most illustrious violinists like Rajamanikya Pillai, Mayavaram Govindaraja Pillai, T.Chowdaiah, Lalgudi Jayaraman, Parur Sundaram Iyer, Parur M.S.Gopalakrishnan, T.N.Krishnan, M.Chandrasekaran and others have played for the sabha. Stalwarts in the field of percussion like Palghat Mani Iyer, Palani Subramanya Pillai, Umayalpuram Sivaraman, Palghat Raghu, Guruvayur Dorai, Vellore Ramabhadran, Trichy Sankaran and others have played here. The other artists who had enthralled the audience with their instrumental music were Namagiripet Krishnan, Sheik Chinnamoulana Saheb, AKC.Natarajan, V.Doreswamy Iyengar, Chitti Babu, Emani Shankara Shastry, T.R.Mahalingam, N.Ramani and others. Leading and internationally acclaimed Hindustani musicians like Pandit Ravishankar, Ustad Halim Jaffar Khan, Parveen Sultana, Amjad Ali Khan, and others have rendered their music here. Renowned exponents of classical dance like Padma Subrahmanyam, Chitra Visweswaran, Yamini Krishnamurthy, Protima Bedi, Vyjayantimala Bali have mesmerized the audience. All these programmes were conducted at various venues like Sahakara Bhavana, Maharaja College Centenary Hall, Crawford Hall, etc.

Conducting programmes at different venues was very inconvenient. Due to the efforts of Sri.K.V.Anantharamaiah the present premises was made available to the Sabha. The foundation stone was laid by the then Chief Minister of Karnataka Sri. R.Gundu Rao on 23.11.81. However due to paucity of funds the building couldn't be completed till 1989. It accommodated around 400 people. Hall was named after Sangita Kalanidhi Mysore K.Vasudevacharya who was a great composer from Mysore. He was a prominent figure in the music scenario of Karnataka. He also served as the Director of Kalakshetram, Chennai founded by the legendary Smt. Rukminidevi Arundale. The hall was inaugurated by Sangita Kalanidhi M.L.Vasantakumari on 30.11.1989. Thus the sabha reached a milestone after 32 years.

Sri K.V. Murthy took over the reins as the president of the Sabha in 2005. Since then the sabha has been growing multi-dimensionally. 2005-2006 being the 50th year of the sabha, 75 programmes were conducted to mark the Golden Jubilee celebrations. The acoustics was improved. Cushioning of seats and revamping of sound system was done. Greenroom was properly furnished. The hall was carpeted. Generators have been fixed. A bust of Vasudevacharya was installed. A balcony with 200 seats is built. This Hall of fame is adorned with the photographs of musical stalwarts of both Carnatic & Hindustani streams. It has cost the sabha Rs.30 lakhs. All these have been made possible by the tireless effort of the committee & the munificence of the philanthropists.

Now the sabha is a major cultural centre in the state. The Sabha is organizing around 35 programmes a year. It has taken up other activities which are complementary to music like Nadakishorotsava a youth festival during Krishnashtami and organizing Music workshops in April & November. Jayachamaraja Wodeyar's birthday in July and Dixitar Day in November are celebrated every year. Vasudevacharya day & Sri M.J.SrinivasaIyengar's Birthday are celebrated in May. V. Doreswamy Iyengar's memorial 'Vainika Vaibhava' in october is a day long programme dedicated exclusively to veena & it's development. A senior veena artist of the state is felicitated with the title 'Vainika Brahma' and is presented a purse. In addition to it nearly 10 endowment programmes are are there every year and Dr. A.K.Gopalrajan memorial programme is one such. "Nadabrahma" & "Nadakishora" title and cash awards are presented to a senior artist and the winner of Nadakishorotsava respectively. It is in the month of January.

In April 2012, a Mini hall in the name of Gana Kamala Bhaskara G.R.Dasappa was inaugurated. It is a fully equipped, well furnished hall. It can accommodate nearly 75 people. The whole project was completely financed by the members of the committee.

Sabha has many more dreams. The sabha seeks the cooperation of the music lovers to develop this sabha and desires to make it internationally acclaimed.
1. Organising concerts and honoring veterans

  • The sabha is organising at least two concerts of veterans and talented yougsters every month.
  • It is felicitating the senior artists with titles, a purse and citation.

2. The sabha is organising many endowment programmes.
  • Dr.A.K.Gopalrajan Memorial programme is celebrated every year. "Nadabrahma" &"Nadakishora" title and cash awards are presented to a senior artist and the winner of Nadakishorotsava respectively in the month of January.
  • An endowment programme to mark the occasion of Padmavibhushana, Sangeeth Kalanidhi Mysore Vasudevacharya's birthday is organised every year in May.
  • Vainika Vidwan M.J.Srinivasa Iyengar's Birthday is celebrated as 'Veena Sambhrama' in May.
  • V. Doreswamy Iyengar Memorial 'Vainika Vaibhava' is a day long programme in October dedicated exclusively to veena & its development. A senior veena artiste of the state is felicitated by conferring the title 'Vainika Brahma' and is also presented with a purse.
  • In addition to it nearly 10 endowment programmes are organized every year.
3. By nurturing young talents
  • To nurture young talents the sabha works in three levels:
  • It organises workshops to expand the horizons of their knowledge.
  • It organises competition to spot new talent, and the winner is conferred the title 'Nada Kishora.'
  • It provides platform to young talents.

  • The sabha strongly feels that art has a pivotal role in the creation of healthy minds, hence through its meaningful activities the sabha is contributing to build a healthy mind, a healthy and peaceful society.
    2015 © Nadabrahma Sangeetha Sabha
    Visitor's Count HTML Counter
    Mobile Responsive(Compatible) Website
    Web Designed & Maintained by veriton